Cornwall Township Historical Society & Museum
The Cornwall Township Historical Society is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to preserving history in the former Cornwall Township. The organization was founded in 1978 through an effort to save the old convent in St. Andrews West from demolition. The building was designated a Heritage Building and is now known as the Raisin River Heritage Centre and acts as the headquarters for the Historical Society and the St. Andrews West library. The building also houses a museum and is open Sunday afternoons from 1:00pm to 3:00pm in July and August.
St. Andrews West
From a historic perspective, there is St. Andrews West - the oldest parish in the area with a rich history, many fine buildings and monuments. The parish Hall, built by early settlers and used as a hospital in the War of 1812, is notable as one of the oldest stone churches in the province. St. Andrews Church built in 1860, is Gothic style, featuring a lofty bell tower and spire. The ‘Log Church’ is a replica of one of the first Catholic churches in Upper Canada.
The cemetery in St. Andrews West is also one of the oldest in Ontario. It is the resting place of such notables as John Sandfield MacDonald, the first Premier of Ontario, and Simon Fraser, the famous explorer. Rustic Quinn's Inn, built in 1865 as a stagecoach stopover, has been beautifully restored and functions as a dining room and pub. The Raisin River Heritage Centre is also based in St. Andrews West. It features pioneer artifacts, a classroom section and cheese factory items.