From pioneer settlements to significant battlegrounds of the war of 1812; and from the final resting place for famed explorer Simon Fraser and Ontario's first Premiere, Sir John Sandfield MacDonald to the flooding of villages and relocation of some 6,500 people to make way for the St. Lawrence Seaway Project, the Township of South Stormont is teeming with incredible historical stories waiting to be retold. 

Historical Societies and Organizations

With so much history throughout the area, groups of dedicated volunteers have been instrumental in the preservation of our past and ensuring our stories continue to be told. 

The Lost Villages Historical Society

Cornwall Township Historical Society

Historical Sites and Points of Interest in South Stormont

The Township keeps a Municipal Heritage Register that outlines properties of cultural heritage value and are identified as being important to the community. We have outlined some of the key historical points of interest in the listing to follow, but you can view the full Municipal Heritage Register below. 

Municipal Heritage Register 

 Lost Villages Museum

16361 Fran Laflamme Dr
Long Sault 

The Lost Villages Museum is located in Ault Park on Fran Laflamme Drive, 3 kilometres east of Long Sault, Ontario. The museum site consists of ten heritage buildings, moved and restored to Ault Park from The Lost Villages and surrounding townships by the members of The Lost Villages Historical Society. Both the interiors and exteriors of the buildings have been restored, and they have been assembled in a village-like setting at Ault Park. The buildings commemorate the inundation of lands to the south of the museum complex on July 1, 1958.

 American Civil War Monument

16361 Fran Laflamme Dr
Long Sault

Located at Ault Park, the site of the Lost Villages Museum, this is the first Canadian monument in honour of the 40,000 Canadians who fought in the American Civil War (1861-1865). The project came to fruition through a combined effort of the Lost Villages Historical Society, the Grays and Blues of Montreal, and the Township of South Stormont. 

 St. Andrews West Church and Pioneer Graveyard

5180 Highway 138
St. Andrews West 

The Parish of St. Andrews, which remains in use today, stands high above the historic village of St. Andrews West, with the steeple of the parish reaching 212 feet. Built between 1858 and 1864, the current parish was the third built to accommodate the growing community.  

Across the road from the parish sits the historic Pioneer Graveyard, a small cemetery in the heart of the village that is the final resting place for some significant figures in Canadian history. Famed explorer Simon Fraser, Ontario's first Premiere, John Sandfield MacDonald, and respected Loyalist in the American Civil War, "Spanish" John MacDonell are all buried in the Pioneer Graveyard.

 Quinn's Inn

17329 County Road 2
St. Andrews West

Built in 1865 by Ontario's first Premiere, John Sandfield MacDonald as a hotel and tavern on the main stagecoach route between Montreal, Kingston and Toronto, this building has been historically restored and now offers a unique dining experience with delicious pub fare with the added touch of history. 

Ingleside Cenotaph 
Memorial Park

Maple Street and Memorial Square

The Ingleside Cenotaph memorializes the residents of the former Osnabruck Township who gave their lives during World War 1, from 1939 - 1945. 

The memorial lists the names and military branch of those who were killed in action, along with flags, benches and beautiful landscaping. 

Each year, a Remembrance Day ceremony is held here. 

Raisin River Heritage Centre

Council and staff have been researching and reviewing all potential options for the future of the Raisin River Heritage Centre (RRHC) since 2016. Staff has created the Raisin River Heritage Centre page to provide members of the public and key stakeholders the opportunity to review all of the background information and timeline of the work that has been completed.